County Commission

Smith County

The Smith County Board of Commissioners is an elected board of three members from each district that come together to make all major decisions that affect the county. Meetings are held every second Monday of each month at 7PM, unless the scheduled date falls on a holiday, then it would fall on the next day. Meetings are scheduled for the months of January through November with no meeting being held in December.

County Commissioners

Your residence is located in a specific “Precinct,” or area within the county, where you will vote on Election Day. Please contact the Smith County Election Commission with any questions regarding Precincts for Smith County. You may also find information for your assigned precinct by visiting the Voter Registration Information Lookup And Absentee By-Mail Ballot Status Tracker website.

Commissioners by Districts

DISTRICT 1: PLEASANT SHADE / DEFEATED / DIFFICULT

Chris Nixon
60 Nixon Hollow Lane
Pleasant Shade, TN 37145
615-489-5843
cnixon@smithcountytn.gov

Glen Reece
4 Kirk Lane
Carthage, TN  37030
615-774-3646
greece@smithcountytn.gov

Terry Givens
324 Buffalo Road
Carthage, TN  37030
615-489-0247
tgivens@smithcountytn.gov

DISTRICT 2: DIXON SPRINGS / MONOVILLE / TANGLEWOOD / TURKEY CREEK

Billy Bass
17 Sunny View Lane
Carthage, TN 37030
Home: 615-735-9359
bbass@smithcountytn.gov

Greta Kirby
287 Turkey Creek Hwy
Carthage, TN 37030
615-735-2429
gkirby@smithcountytn.gov

Jason Stewart
8 Farley Lane
Carthage, TN 37030
615-735-7151
jstewart@smithcountytn.gov

DISTRICT 3: NEW MIDDLETON / BRUSH CREEK / HICKMAN

Jimmie Winfree
137 Dyers Branch Road
Gordonsville, TN 38563
615-489-0491
jwinfree@smithcountytn.gov

Stephanie McCaleb
48 McCaleb Lane
Brush Creek, TN 38547
615-504-7404
smccaleb@smithcountytn.gov

DISTRICT 4: ROCK CITY / ROME

Erika Ebel
159 Lock Seven Lane
Carthage, TN 37030
615-739-3649
eebel@smithcountytn.gov

Ronald Shumake
123 Lock 7 Lane
Carthage, TN 37030
Home: 931-728-1460
rshumake@smithcountytn.gov

Shannon Minchey
314 Kenny’s Bend Lane
Carthage, TN 37030
615-418-6632
sminchey@smithcountytn.gov

 

DISTRICT 5: GORDONSVILLE / LANCASTER / HICKMAN

Ronald G. Cowan
58 Temperance Hall Hwy
Hickman, TN 38567
Home: 615-683-6609
rcowan@smithcountytn.gov

Linda Nixon
215 Hillcrest Circle
Gordonsville, TN 38563
Home: 615-683-6562
lnixon@smithcountytn.gov

Eddie Stout
112 Oak Drive
Gordonsville, TN 38563
615-418-4379
estout@smithcountytn.gov

DISTRICT 6: CARTHAGE

Steve Babcock
658 Ridgeway Drive
Carthage, TN 37030
615-489-0199
sbabcock@smithcountytn.gov

Casey Elrod
526 Jackson Avenue
Carthage, TN 37030
615-489-9547
celrod@smithcountytn.gov

Bill Reece
604 College Avenue
Carthage, TN 37030
615-735-9108
breece@smithcountytn.gov

DISTRICT 7: SOUTH CARTHAGE

Tommy Bane
53 County House Circle
Carthage, TN 37030
615-735-2144
tbane@smithcountytn.gov

Joey Nixon
170 Lebanon Hwy
Carthage, TN 37030
615-735-2585
jnixon@smithcountytn.gov

Dennis Hackett
2 Hilltop Lane
Carthage, TN 37030
615-735-0168
dhackett@smithcountytn.gov

DISTRICT 8: CHESTNUT MOUND / ELMWOOD

Theresa Gross
33 Jonesboro Lane
Elmwood, TN 38560
Home: 615-735-1000
tgross@smithcountytn.gov

Tim Bellar
20 Cy Hollow Lane
Chestnut Mound, TN 38552
615-486-1784
tbellar@smithcountytn.gov

Frank Woodard
187 Conditt Hollow Road
Elmwood, TN 38560
615-897-2930
fwoodard@smithcountytn.gov

MEETING INFO

2021 Meeting Dates

Monday, January 11
7 PM

MEETING VIDEOS

VOTING PRECINCTS